

RON DESANTIS GOVERNOR 605 Suwannee Street Tallahassee, FL 32399-0450 JARED W. PERDUE, P.E. SECRETARY

HURRICANE HELENE (TROPICAL CYCLONE NINE) FDOT EMERGENCY ORDER 24-19 (Pursuant to Executive Order Nos. 24-208, 24-209, 24-213, and 24-249)

WHEREAS, on September 23, 2024, Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 24-208 regarding showers and thunderstorms located over the northwestern Caribbean Sea and portions of Central America that were associated with a broad area of low pressure, previously identified as Potential Tropical Cyclone Nine, and which later developed into Hurricane Helene; and

WHEREAS, on September 24, 2024, Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 24-209 amending Executive Order 24-208 and declaring a state of emergency for additional counties within the state; and

WHEREAS, on October 3, 2024, Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 24-213, to address disruptions in commerce caused by the International Longshoremen's Association's strike, and to reclassify Potential Tropical Cyclone Nine as Hurricane Helene; and

WHEREAS, presently there are no disruptions in state commerce and the International Longshoremen's Association strike has since ceased; and

WHEREAS, on November 21, 2024, Governor Ron DeSantis issued Executive Order 24-249, extending all provisions of Executive Order 24-208, as amended, for sixty (60) days, except for the amendments and accommodations made by Executive Order 24-213 which are now moot; and

WHEREAS, the affected areas are still recovering from the damage caused by Hurricane Helene; and

WHEREAS, the Florida Department of Transportation is continuing to deploy resources to support the disaster response efforts related to Hurricane Helene.

NOW, THEREFORE, I, JARED W. PERDUE, P.E., Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation, pursuant to the authority granted by Executive Order No. 24-208 as amended by Executive Order Nos. 24-209, 24-213, and 24-249 hereby:

- 1. Continue to waive and suspend the following rules and statutes: sections 316.515(1)-(3), 316.535(1) and (3), 316.545(2) and (4), 316.550(1), and 337.401(1)(a), Florida Statutes, and Rules 14-28.002(4) and (5), and 14-46.001(2), Florida Administrative Code, to the extent needed to allow the establishment of alternate size and weight restrictions for divisible loads on any vehicles transporting emergency equipment, services, supplies or personnel, or to transport FEMA mobile homes or office style mobile homes, and agricultural commodities and citrus as recommended by the Commissioner of Agriculture, and as needed to waive by special permit the warning signal requirements in the Utility Accommodation Manual to accommodate public utility companies from other jurisdictions to render assistance in restoring vital services, subject to the limitations expressed in Executive Order Nos. 24-208, 24-209, 24-213, and 24-249.
- 2. Continue to waive and suspend sections 112.061, 216.292, 216.313, 287.055, 287.056, 287.057(1)-(10), (12), (17), (20) and (25), 287.0823, 287.15, 337.02(2), 337.107, 337.11, 339.08, and 339.135(6), Florida Statutes, and Rules 60A-1.002, 60A-1.017, 60A-1.021, 60A-1.043, and 60A-1.045, Florida Administrative Code, as they relate to leasing, printing, purchasing, travel, the conditions of employment and the compensation of employees, or the use

of State Transportation Trust Funds off the State Highway System, to the extent necessary to

ensure the timely performance of the Department of Transportation's disaster response functions

as prescribed in the State Comprehensive Management Plan or as directed by the State

Coordinating Officer or Deputy State Coordinating Officer.

3. The waivers and suspensions of statute are limited to Alachua, Baker, Bay,

Bradford, Brevard, Calhoun, Charlotte, Citrus, Clay, Collier, Columbia, DeSoto, Dixie, Duval,

Escambia, Flagler, Franklin, Gadsden, Gilchrist, Glades, Gulf, Hamilton, Hardee, Hendry,

Hernando, Highlands, Hillsborough, Holmes, Jackson, Jefferson, Lafayette, Lake, Lee, Leon,

Levy, Liberty, Madison, Manatee, Marion, Monroe, Nassau, Okaloosa, Okeechobee, Orange,

Osceola, Pasco, Pinellas, Polk, Putnam, Santa Rosa, Sarasota, Seminole, St. Johns, Sumter,

Suwannee, Taylor, Union, Volusia, Wakulla, Walton, and Washington counties.

4. All actions taken by the Florida Department of Transportation with respect to this

emergency before the issuance of this Emergency Order are hereby ratified.

This order shall expire on January 20, 2025, the expiration or rescission of Executive

Order No. 24-208, as amended by Executive Order Nos. 24-209, 24-213, and 24-249 or my

further order, whichever is earlier.

Dated this 22nd day of November, 2024.

-- DocuSigned by:

Jared W. Perdue, P.E., Secretary

Florida Department of Transportation